The Shoe

images-6

 

I followed the right path today almost unconsciously, I remembered the short cut I took yesterday and smiled.ย Yesterday, I walked faster and had leaped across a gorge like it was what I was born to do.

What was different?
Funny, I still had two of my outfits from yesterday. Same hair, same breakfast, same basic everything. So what was different today?
I look down and I see my feet. I couldn’t do that yesterday; see my feet that is, reason being that I had shoes on.ย Yesterday had me covering territories, jumping over heights, daring a snake to move in my path and get trampled upon.
Today I have what a yoruba man would call “batta” ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย (slippers/flip flop). So I jejerly walked on the cleared path andย in humility too.ย 

You see, the type of shoes you wear, one way or another affects your movement; manner and speed.ย  If you have seen a lady on a shaky stiletto, you’d understand my point well.You can’t wear high heels and walk like an “Agbero” or run after a bus in good speed or even make fast movement for that matter.
Why do you think a lot of females carry flats next to their bibles on Sunday mornings? Go figure!

There are some things even your shoes, the shoes you wear, won’t let you do.I wonder if that’s the reason we are advised to put on shoes of good news and of peace. Sometimes it doesn’t matter what your shoes are worth, if the sound of your shoes trigger fear and arguments, your shoe and by extension, its owner, ย is totally worthless.

Shoes are known to add height, glam and class. Beyond that they’ve also been known to leave imprints in the sands, sands of ย mind and ย desires in the heart, the hearts of ย beholders.
So maybe this shoe post is not about my new shoe rave (just maybe) butย beyond glam, gloss and class, let your shoes; your feet bring peace.
Be it batta or Nike’s.

11 thoughts on “The Shoe

  1. I loved this post so much. I love flat shoes and I always try to avoid heels as much as possible. Most of my friends don’t understand why though but I love what I love. Flats all the way.

    Like

    1. Oh wow. Good to have you stop by Olivia. I can totally relate with the love for flats. Comfort is key to every appearance and peace is a worthwhile venture. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment